Week of April 2

Well, this week was super nice.
It was a bit hectic, though, as I had to meet with people this week (the first time in this area) and I forgot where some people lived, so we went back and forth a lot!

I gave the district meeting this week, which was on an interesting thing I found in the Book of Mormon (based on a study from President Spendlove). In 1 Nephi chapter 8, Lehi first encounters a man who appear somewhat like an angel. The man bids him to follow, and he does. He walks for hours, following this man, but he doesn’t ever go anywhere. So, as President Spendlove showed us, this doesn’t make too much sense if he really were an angel. Angels take us away from the bleak, dreary wilderness and into the presence of God. It was only when Lehi started to pray that he was taken from the wilderness into the dream itself. So, I thought about us as missionaries. Our purpose is to help investigators come unto Christ and develop faith in him. But to do that they need to first have faith in us, like a stepping stone. The problem comes in when we don’t change the faith in us into faith in Christ. We become like the man who led Lehi. The people we teach don’t actually progress, it just appears that they are. So, like the admonition in Mosiah 18:20, we need to teach nothing but Faith in Christ and Repentance. That doesn’t mean we don’t teach about everything else. It just means that everything else should be focused on these two, basic, fundamental principles. Good times.

We had a good rest of the week. Elders Chamberlain and Coombs went to (are in) Luaha right now. We climbed the mountain this morning bem cedo. We went to go visit Brother Max this week, as well. It was good to be able to see him and talk with him, and I feel a little worried for him. We’re trying to get him more active in the church, but are running into some issues… Well, we’ll just keep trying. I’m super grateful for the opportunity I have to be back here and to help people.

Oh, side note. I had made a goal for myself to read the Doctrine and Covenants this transfer. But, to do it, I wasn’t reading the Book of Mormon every day. It came to a head as I got more and more frustrated with little things, including my companion. But I started reading the Book of Mormon again (the same day that Elder Delgado started as well) and everything was happy from day one. Well… I guess I can’t stop reading šŸ˜›

Well, love you all!
Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.