Week of March 5

Well. I’m in Nampula.

My new companion is Elder Delgado, who is awesome. I’m super excited to be here and to have him as my companion. The house here is nice now: they upgraded the water tank(s) so that we don’t really run out of water now. But it’s really weird, Nampula has changed so much, but it’s still exactly the same. It even smells the same πŸ˜›

But it’s super cool to see a bunch of the people I knew in the past. Marlene, who was an investigator Elder Hill and I found, seems to be doing super awesome. When I asked about her, the other elders told me she was super strong πŸ˜› woohoo! Also Mercelina, Faisal’s mom, is doing awesome. She’s now the Relief Society President. Neninha is doing super well. She looks completely different, but super happy. She has a calling in the Primary. Angela and Leandro aren’t really progressing, but they come to church every week. They still haven’t made plans to get married, and they were supposed to come to a marriage fireside last night but didn’t show up 😦 So we’ll work with them and see what we can do.

OK, on to members! Cremildo is a champion, holding three callings including seminary teacher (every morning, Tuesday through Friday). Maninho (a rapaz from my second area, who was inactive) is super strong now. He even apologized to me for being inactive when I was here last :P. Faisal is the Sunday School teacher, and is doing a pretty good job teaching (this was his first week). And Chimite (counselor in the branch Presidency) and Claudia (Institute professor) are planning to get married. Julho went to the Civil Register this morning to start the work on his marriage (woohoo) and hopefully he’ll be ready by next week.

So yea. I got here on Friday, after a long trip from Beira, and we went out to go and visit some people. We went and saw Saraia and Jamal. They’re doing awesome, but live even further out than they did before. He no longer works out in the middle of nowhere, staying out of the city for weeks at a time, but is a guard, and is home often :P. We visited a few other people, and ran into Cremildo, who was surprised to see me. Saturday, we went out with the Osborns to buy stuff for the church here. There was a meeting that night, and then we went to the Filippinos (Sister Mila’s) for dinner. I had heard that they had stopped going over because the Elders were taking advantage of it and not doing missionary work. So I hope that as we start up again, we can make it an efficient use of our time and help them to enjoy it as well. Sunday, we went to church, back home for a training with the Zone leaders, and then back to the church for a fireside with the Osborns. Good day overall.

Well, I’m super excited to be here, and super excited to work hard. I have set a few goals for myself this transfer (I’m really starting to like these:P) and am working hard to get them done!

Love you all!
Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.