Week of December 12

This week went well. Elder Nascimento is the new Assistant, and Elder Jeffs showed up on Wednesday. We’ve already started working hard, and walking a lot.

I had decided to make Cachupa (the Cabo Verdian dish that I love) and so I did. It turned out well. Thursday, we went out to visit people, and visited a lot.

It’s really cool to see Elder Jeffs again and see how much he’s grown as a person and as a missionary. There’s a lot I have to learn from him, and he’s helping a lot.

Friday, we had Zone leader’s Conference, over Skype, but the connection was bad and didn’t work out very well. So we only got the note from the meeting :/ There used to be 6 elders here in Chimoio, but now there are only 4, so one of the areas got divided. We picked up a lot of new area and spent the rest of the day on Friday meeting people and trying to get to know the area a bit. But it rained. A lot. So we got super soaked and mud everywhere. This is the first area that I’ve been in that doesn’t have a lot of sand. I thought I’d like it, but now there’s a lot of mud when it rains, something I haven’t had to deal with my whole mission. But it’s a small price to pay šŸ˜›

I just wanted to give a shout out to Raul Mafua, one of the members here in Chimoio. He is an inspiration for me. He worked as a barber, making less than a hundred dollars a month, for the last 8 months. He’s been looking for a new job, and finally found it. He almost doubled his salary and got lunch included. We were all excited for him. Then he found out that he wouldn’t be able to get Sundays off. He didn’t even hesitate. “If I can’t get Sundays off, I’m not coming back,” he said to the manager, and then walked out. “You’re just going to walk out on money?” The manager asked. “I’ve already made a commitment to God. That comes first.”

So he’s a barber again. But he’s happy.

It doesn’t feel like Christmas here in a week. Here, no one is in the spirit of the season. So it’s a little hard for me. But, we work hard at it, and I think it shows. I’m looking forward to this week and to the work we’ll get to do.

Call on Saturday! Probably Skype. We’ll see how it works.

Anyway, love you all!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

Cachupa and I

New awesome watchband šŸ˜›

Matching elders!

Our baptismal 'font'

Moises, who I've have now seen in every area I have been in - Nampula, Manga, Chimoio

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.