Week of November 14

Dear home, Traveling is tiring.

We got back from our trip to Maxixe last night [Tue Nov 22] at about eight or eight thirty ish. It was a good trip, and it was good to see the progress that the branch (group) there is making. This time, I walked with Elders Adamson and Coombs. They are both great elders, but newer in the mission (5 and 3 transfers, respectively), so it is a bit harder for them to work. They are working really hard, but they don’t have the experience another missionary might. So, that’s where I come in!

It was an eye opening experience walking with them. I’ve never thought of myself as a good teacher or good missionary, but I can see where I’ve come since I was at their time. I can really see the hand of the Lord, helping me to grow and learn what I need to do. Through the Spirit, I am a good teacher. I just need to recognize it 😛

But yea, good weekend. I’m excited to see the progress they’ve already made since the last time I was there, and I’m super excited to see how much more will be in the future!

Last week, we headed to the Old Head, a mountain here in Chimoio. I don’t have a good picture of it, but I’m looking to find a good spot to take one. But we had a nice hike to the top, and a nice time up there. I’m continually amazed by the beauty of nature and of all of God’s creations.

Tuesday [Nov 15], Elder Nascimento and I waited all day for an electrician and a plumber to show up. They never did…

Wednesday, we were still sick (I started last Friday [Nov 11]), so we didn’t get much done. But on Thursday, we went out to Piloto to teach a new family there. We had a really nice lesson, with Sister Filomena helping us out. I’m excited to see where Quito (Kito) and Neolidia go, they have some really great potential. They are a young couple with their first kid. They seem super interested, so we’ll see how it all goes over the next few weeks.

Maxixe was a grand reunion for me [Fri Nov 18]. I saw a bunch of people I met up in Nampula and in Manga (Muocha, Pinto, Filipe, Mussa). It was super nice, and I’m glad I got to see them and how they are still going strong.

Well, I think that’s about it. I don’t remember much else. Lots of traveling. Not so much fun. But, work is work.

Loves ya!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

p.s. Elder Mateus left for Brasil today [Nov 23]! He finally got his Visa, and we are super excited.

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.