Week of August 12

Well, another transfer has come and gone. This makes four for me, and my time to leave. I’m headed to Chimoio (Wikipedia entry). As a zone leader… I was hoping to avoid that, but it looks like to no avail 😛 Oh well, I look forward to a new opportunity. I will be companions with Elder Nascimento, who is awesome. I’m really looking forward to working with him.

So, this week was fun. Elder Cannon and I (well, all of us in our house) are trying to work our butts off to help the branch grow. We are (were now for me I guess…) working with all of the leaders to help fortify them and strengthen their testimonies. President Camalizene is working on reorganizing the branch so that everything can get more help (We asked for a few members who are serving in district positions back).

This week passed quickly. Not a lot of importance has happened, although I had some great days. Elder Cannon and I are hitting our stride. He is such a cool person, and I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to help him get started. He is on the right track to be a great missionary.

President Camalizene is the man. There was a member, by the name of Pinto, who was supposed to go to the temple on the trip that leaves in November. Originally there were 46 spots. He is 70 something, and he would have gone last year, but his family died. The only thing he wants to do is go and be sealed before he dies. He was denied a spot for some reason I don’t know (they cut the number in half…) and President Camalizene gave his spot up so this man could go. I love President Camalizene. I am sad to leave him and move on, but it is what has to happen. I am so glad to have had the time to learn from him and to have had the opportunity to grow under his direction. I hope what I have done here will have an impact for good.

I gave a talk yesterday in sacrament meeting. I think it went pretty well. I talked about being strong in the gospel, as opposed to the church. I liked it and learned a lot. 😛

Love you all!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

p.s. The computer isn’t recognizing my camera, so no pics this week. But definitely next week!

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.