Week of August 1

Transfers!

So nothing really new for me with transfers. I am still everything I was, although it looks like my district was downsized. I believe my district now is just my house, instead of a few elders from a house close by. But I have to ask President, so I’m not entirely sure. One of the zone leaders, who lives with me, Elder Miller, is leaving, headed to Quelimane to train and help open a new area and be the “leader” of the group there. (Really the leader is President Spendlove, but he can’t be there…)

So Monday, we had our zone activity, combined with the Beira zone. Elder Bingham, the Church Welfare missionary, and Elder Bonini (Elder Ribeiro) and their wives helped get it all going. We had a barbecue on the beach, near a lighthouse and a shipwreck. We played ultimate frisbee for a long time, and just generally were able to relax a bit. Good times.

Tuesday went over pretty well, nothing big that I remember happened. I have some blisters on my feet now because we are walking so much. But we’re having a good time, and keeping busy. Wednesday through Thursday passed without much fuss, although I was super sore from playing so much on the beach on Monday.

Friday we went to to the Indian Restaurant (they sell Indian food) after our district meeting, and then I did a division with Elder Miller, one of the Zone leaders. But, our house had been without power all morning (which happens a lot), even though our neighbors had power. So we had to head down to the baixa to ask the national power company to come and take a look at it. They were pretty rude, but said they’d be there in an hour or so. So, we caught a chapa all the way back to the house and waited for them. For three hours. We didn’t get anything productive done that day (except for the power, which was a huge benefit :P). So that kind of sucked. But, I’m getting used to it. Patience, always patience.

Saturday, we went and sat with a man named João, who was baptized about a month after I got here, and who hasn’t been to church since. We got a report that he is probably drinking, and not really doing what he is supposed to. So we talked to him about that, a little bit, and were going to schedule a time to go visit him some more on Sunday, but he never showed up… So we have to go try to find him this week some time 😐 I’m a bit bummed out. He wasn’t ready to be baptized (obviously), but I didn’t say anything and let it happen. Oh well. Now I have to try to do what I can to see if I can fix the error and help him come back to Christ.

I decided to finish up Jesus the Christ this week and I did. It was a really good experience for me. I feel closer to my Savior by learning more about His life, death, and resurrection. He did so much for me, and I know there is so much He does now, whether I am able to recognize it or not. I hope I can be a better example of Him who helps me in all that I do, that I may be accounted worthy of His sacrifice. I also started to read the Old Testament (Ugh.) and I am working my way through it (I am planning to finish the whole Bible by the end of the year). Wish me luck!

So yea. New transfer, new week. Same old me. My camera didn’t have any batteries, so there was no pictures this week. 😦

Love you all!
Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.