Week of July 4

Phew! I’m exhausted!

Saturday and Sunday almost killed me with my new ‘calling.’ I made a joke with President Camalizane, our branch president, that my calling, as a missionary, is to do whatever President Spendlove wants šŸ˜›

So Saturday, I went down to pick up my new companion ELDER CANNON. Finally, I can write that, without President killing me šŸ˜› He is pretty cool, but the best part is that he is almost as big of a dork as me! He loves to read, so we have talked a bit about that. I don’t really know him too well yet, as I have been ridiculously busy the last few days since he showed up (and will continue to be for the next few days/week/months). But it’s a good start. After that, we went to the chapel in the city of Beira, for a meeting, and found out after a while that it wasn’t until the 23rd… I was kind of mad, because this isn’t the first time this has happened, although it was the first time to me. The communication between the district and the branches is pretty low. So then we went back to our chapel and taught English class. I had a meeting with President Camalizane to prepare for the next day at church. I was going to prepare a talk that night, just in case someone didn’t show up the next day, but we talked a lot, and I didn’t get it done. So yesterday, when we got to church, and none of the people had showed up, I started preparing something. In 5 minutes, I had my 15 minutes talk. I couldn’t do that before my mission šŸ˜› I love knowing the scriptures. Luckily, I didn’t have to do anything, everyone showed up, if late. But interestingly, I was going to speak on the importance of the sacrament and why we need to show up on time… huh. Weird.

Church went well, although I didn’t get to sit in the classes, because I had things to do… We were sprung with a surprise meeting at 16, two hours after I usually leave from church, so we sprinted home to eat, and sprinted back. I really didn’t need to be there for the meeting, but whatever. They talked about what we are going to do as an area for our Helping Hands day (South East Africa’s is the 20th of August). Then we went to Brother Mugoja’s house (the first counselor) to help a relative of his with missionary papers. They were a mess. They weren’t in Portuguese, and were duplicated and… ugh. So I spent a couple of hours translating them and making them look better… Then we went back and gave them to her.

Elder Cannon speaks a lot better Portuguese than I did when I showed up, which is due to a new program they are instituting in the MTC. They focus on teaching people, not lessons, and they are immersed in the language from day one. Here in a couple of months, the new elders who show up are going to be required to have trainings here, in the area, on the lessons, because they won’t learn them at all in the MTC. I like it. It makes showing up a lot easier.

Loves you!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

Us at the Inhamizua house on the 5th, to celebrate Independence Day (Cabo Verde's is the 5th :P)

Me and my new companion Elder Cannon šŸ˜› taken a few hours ago (4am-ish EST 7/11)

Cachupa. Which is super good, but looks like... not good. Super good.

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.