Week of June 20

Dear everyone,

I’m dead. Ok, not really. But sorry for the scare.

Last week, and the week before, I was pretty sick. I had (have) some kind of intestinal infection. So I felt like a blob last week. And it came out in my email. But I’m feeling a lot better (if a little gassy :P). I love the doctors here. There really isn’t the same kind of “let’s find out what the problem is” that there is in the states. The mentality is more of a “it could be these twelve things, so let’s treat them all.” So the doctor said I might have diabetes. Rofl. But at the time, I was super scared…

But yea, I’m definitely doing better.

So first, last week, we had a training from President Spendlove. It was super cool, and talked about cutting off people’s heads. Ok, not really, but he talked about it. He gave an example of Sun-Tzu and the Concubine Army of Wu. Sun-Tzu was asked by the Wu leader if he could make a trained fighting force out of any group of people, and he said yes. So the King gave him his concubines. Sun-Tzu put the two most experienced women in charge of the others, and then told them to do one of the maneuvers that he had taught them, and the concubines just laughed. So he explained that if the orders weren’t understood, it was the fault of the commander. So he explained them again, and asked them again to do the maneuver. The concubines, once again just laughed. Sun-Tzu then explained that if the orders were clearly explained, but still not understood, it is the fault of the under-captains. And promptly cut their heads off.

So this relates to missionary work like this: Our investigators, and members, don’t really believe in the things we teach them. They might say they do, but it’s a little hypocritical when you get a person speaking in sacrament meeting about how everyone needs to pay tithing, and names all the blessings you are missing out on by not paying, and doesn’t pay himself. So, we have to be more like Sun-Tzu. We tell them what needs to happen, very clearly. And when they don’t do it, we cut their heads off. Ok, not really. I liked the way the President Spendlove said it. “I don’t like the word drop, and would never tell you to drop anyone, but drop them.” We need to find those who ARE ready to change. And I’m super excited to find them.

So Friday was supposed to be transfers, but the new missionaries aren’t coming in on time (the embassy here closes on July Fourth, which is the day they are supposed to come in, so President Spendlove just made this transfer a 7 week, and next is a 5 week…) so we didn’t have our meeting on Friday. But I found out today. I’m training a new missionary ๐Ÿ™‚ His name is Elder [redacted]. I’m assuming he’s an American, but I have no idea, and I don’t know what he looks like. So we’ll see! I don’t get to meet him until a week from Friday, at the earliest, so we’ll see how things work out, but I have a while. I’m super excited. This is what I was hoping to get to do, and I get to now! Yay.

So yea. Elder McCulloch is headed to Maputo to be a Zone leader, President is opening a new area, and instituting two new sets of Zone leaders. So now we have Zone leaders in Maputo, Beira, Manga, Chimoio, and Quilimane. Cool.

So yea. I also came to an epiphany this week, while we were teaching an investigator. I have been a little crabby for the last two weeks, due to illness and such, and I decided not to be. And I’m happier now. Because I decided to be.

“10% of life is what you are given. 90% is how you react.”

I’m so grateful for the Savior’s influence in my life, and the help I receive from him. I know I can’t do this without his help.

I love you all, and thank you for your continued support!

OH. I got my package [from Mom] last night ๐Ÿ˜› Thanks. Most of the Jerky was good, two of the packages were not sealed, and had started to mold. And the candy is good. A little melted (a lot melted), but super good. Yep.

Love you all!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.