Week of May 23

This week was pretty uneventful. Like really uneventful. We went to a lot of people’s house, and they weren’t there. But, it happens.

I have been studying the BoM again, this time with the old BYU course manual as a guide. I’m studying the BOM in English, and the D&C in Portuguese, also with an old BYU course manual. I’m really enjoying it, especially with all of the references and quotes that they have.

Elder Workman, the new elder in our house, is super cool. He wants to write books/teach English at the university level. So I’m getting some cool ideas and help for my free time hobby.

This week was colder than I thought possible here. I was cold in the mornings almost every day. But it probably never dipped down under 70 in the morning, but to me, that’s freezing now.

Elder McCulloch and I thought about doing an ‘open church’ night twice a month or so, to get people coming to the church. A lot of people want to come, but they are afraid, because it’s a large church, with a wall and a guard, and has white people. So we’re hoping to get people out there and break the ice. The two branches that share our building have started getting interested, so hopefully we’ll get that started here in a couple of weeks.

I can’t really think of anything else that happened this week. The work continues forward, and I’m a part of it.

Love you all,
Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.