Week of April 25

So this week was pretty chill. Not too much happened, but we got out and did work. I have been blessed with an amazing companion. Elder McCulloch is a wonderful, spiritual man who makes me want the best out of myself. This week, I have been contemplating the Plan of Salvation a bit and how it actually works. It has been eye opening this week, thinking about and studying and teaching the wonderful, perfect plan of our Heavenly Father. But mostly this week, I have been studying and focusing on the Savior’s sacrifice. It is amazing to contemplate the sheer power of what He did for me. I have been trying hard recently to do everything I need, and I have noticed how ineffective it is. This work I am here to do is not something I can do myself, and it is taking me a lot longer than I hoped it would have to realize just what that means. I still have a long way to go. A long, long way. But I feel now that I am starting to make the right decisions so that I can more effectively rely on the help of the Savior. So that I can more fully be he messenger, who he trusts, to deliver his words.

We are working on a few of our investigators, to get them ready for baptism, and this week we started visiting with some of the Relief Society presidency here. Our Relief Society is essentially in the tubes, with less than 5 women showing up on a normal day. So my companion, who is in the Branch presidency, is making sure we start small with them and work our way out. One of the big problems we have is with visiting teaching. The women want to go and do visits, but they plan too large, trying to visit everyone possible, and fail and become discouraged and stop. I was thinking about this and how this relates to us. I know that for me, it is very easy to become wrapped up in a project and bite off more than you can chew. Sometimes, the best answer is not to fix all the problems, or even to fix the biggest ones, but to fix the ones you can and keep working from close, fixable problems, to bigger, more challenging ones. For the Relief Society, this means getting them to visit each other (the ones who are showing up on a regular basis), and then we can get them to work on the less actives, one at a time, until they are more active. Then, and only then, will it be feasible to get the inactives on the list of receiving visits.

But yea. I can’t believe it’s almost been six months since I called last. I’ll call from here in about a month (sometime around the 5th), and that puts me right about at six months from Christmas.

Interesting news this week, we (our zone) were eating out on Friday, and got to watch the royal wedding. What a ridiculously long event for such a short thing. But it was cool to watch. And go troops! Only took ten years, but at least he’s gone [ed: Osama bin Laden].

So I would have emailed yesterday, but it was a holiday. “Tolerance Day” which means “how much alcohol can you tolerate”, or in our case, “how many drunk ramblings can you tolerate” day.

But we had fun. Ish.

Love you all!

Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.