Week of April 18

Spring break… Slackers.

This week was nice here in Manga. We had an awesome training from the APs this week on the difference between principles and rules. Rules are good, but we as a church should be a principle people. Following principles is harder, but is more rewarding and better for us in the long run. This doesn’t mean that we should break rules (although we joke about it a lot now), but rather we will be following rules simply by coincidence because of the principles. For example, why do we, as the church, have the law of chastity or word of wisdom? The principle behind it is that we need to respect our bodies. It is interesting to note the reason why we give rules in the first place: we institute rule for those who cannot understand the reasons why. These are those who are mentally, emotionally, or spiritually immature/undeveloped. So, if we understand why these principles are so important, we will have no need of rules. Unfortunately, it doesn’t quite work as simply as take the rules away and work off principles. But the idea is nice.

We had a baptism this week. I got to watch 6 new converts take upon themselves this covenant with their Heavenly Father. It was so special to watch, but most importantly to me was the opportunity to listen to these fine people bear their testimonies. It has become more and more important to me to hear others’ testimonies and each time it is so special to understand the process these people are going through to change their lives. I got to participate in the confirming of a few of the investigators, and it was a wonderful experience.

Our district is working well. As far as I can tell, everyone is doing well. The zone leaders went to observe another district’s meeting, so it was just four of us this week. But we talked about helping the Inhamizua branch a bit with their members’ houses. They fell down a while ago (I think I told you this already, but we didn’t get to do it last week), so we are planning on trying to help them this week.

This week was an interesting one, as far as personal progress goes. I noticed much easier it is to feel the Spirit when I’m listening… I’ve been starting the Miracle of Forgiveness (in Portuguese) and it has been interesting to see the how much the Spirit has shown me my strengths that I didn’t think I had, the things I have done right in my life, when there are so many things I have done wrong. It has been an eye opener to be able to realize how special I really am. I am a son of the Living God, He loves me, and He wants me to succeed in every way possible. I am not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but I am working on becoming perfect through our Savior’s Atonement.

PS. I want pictures. Bad. xD so send them.

Elder A. Spencer Leake

Baraca - before reconstruction


Baraca - after reconstruction

McCulloch and I on top of a building (this morning)

Train tracks

$2 worth of fruit (I love Biera!)

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.