End of Week of April 4

There’s not too much to say this week; I didn’t leave Nampula until Saturday at 4:00 PM. For Thursday and Friday, I walked with Elder Young, but his companion showed up early Saturday morning, so I stayed with Elder Lopes (who came down to Beira with me) until we left. The trip down was uneventful. We left on time, and arrived here in Beira around 7:30 in the morning on Sunday (map: http://tinyurl.com/3zephs9). I was exhausted, but the work never stops! 😛 We went to church at 10, and I was greeted with a real chapel! And a real Branch! It’s very different here than in Nampula. The Branch runs itself, for the most part, with help from the Missionaries, instead of us running the branch, which is what happens up in Nampula. I’m excited, because this means more time to work away from the church, instead of spending a good portion of our proselyting time at the church. After church, I went to go help with the Tithing: counting and signing and double-checking, while Elder McCullough was in Branch council with most of the leaders of the branch. It’s definitely interesting to be in a leadership position… As the district leader there is a lot of stuff I’m supposed to do. I am almost the youngest in my district, and I live with the Zone leaders. So it’s a little hard for me, knowing all these others are here who have seen the right things to do, and the things you shouldn’t do as district leader. I want to help as much as I can, and I want them to get as much out of my time as District Leader as possible, but as of now, I have no idea how to do it. I’ve been reading and pushing myself to try to figure out what to do and how to do it well, and the biggest thing I’ve encountered is faith. I’ve been reading about faith more and more recently, and while I struggle with my own concepts of how strong my faith is, I always know that the Lord is there to help me when I need it. And so, I can get through anything. The last few days have been awesome. I love my house and the Elders I live with (Elder Delgado, form Cabo Verde, and Elder Miller are the ZLs), but I am still struggling internally with how to fill my position well. I have (finally) started to see how much I really need the Lord, especially here on my mission, and how much He really helps me in all that I do.

I love you all, and thank you for your support!


Elder A. Spencer Leake

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.