It’s 2011!

This week was pretty sweet. Elder Hill and I had six investigators, and we got some new ones this week.

Marleni: She is a champion. She is 14, but is progressing super quickly, and is bringing friends to church every week. We have been teaching her for three weeks, and she has made it to church every week (which is better than a lot of the members!)

Ofelia & Abel: A youngish couple who seem to enjoy hearing our message. They have three kids. Ofelia has been to church once, but hasn’t made it back since. I’m getting super sad that they aren’t keeping their commitments, but everyone has their agency, and the best we can do is help them to know how important this is.

Inacia & Valeriano: Inacia is Ofelia’s older sister. They are pretty much in the same boat as Ofelia and Abel, except they haven’t been to church yet. Valeriano seems super interested, and I think that they are progressing, but they haven’t made it to church yet, so this is our focus right now.

Marcelina: She is the mother of one of our members (Faizal, 18). She is a member of the Jehova’s witnesses, and is pretty active there. We, and by that I mean mostly Faizal (who will be an amazing missionary), got her to come yesterday. I was so ridiculously excited! It was a good meeting, and we are going to go visit her tonight.

Kachele: That’s his last name, and what we call him, I have no idea what his first name is. He told us, but it’s hard to say, and he told us to call him Kachele. He speaks wonderful English (the best I’ve heard from a Mozambican), and teaches English at a school here. He is aving some problems at home, but he seems super well off, compared to most of the people here, and is a champion. He was finishing our sentences about the Restoration and why we need one before we had a chance to explain things. He seemed to know everything we were going to tell him before we did. He even gave us a few examples and analogies that we hadn’t though of 😛 He didn’t make it to church, but we are going to visit him tomorrow to see what’s going on with that.

Alex: He came to church last week, and Soares (a member) and Marleni both know him, so he came again this week. Elder Hill and I taught him once last week, but he disappeared when we went to go for our return appointment. Apparently the kids do that here a lot. Leave the house for days at a time, and their parents don’t know. (Thanks Mom and Dad for not letting me do that…)

That’s about it. We have contacted a bunch of people who expressed interest, but one of the problems here is that we can’t give books to everyone who wants one, especially Bibles or Books of Mormon, because a lot of people will just sell them. So we tell people that if they come to church, we can get them a copy of the Book of Mormon, and we give them a pamphlet to help tide them over till then.

I can’t believe I’ve been here for a month now. Time is flying past… I have been out for three months, 1/8 of my total. I’m praying I can learn faster so that I don’t waste this time. It’s a little bit frustrating at time to know that I am not doing much, but I know I’m doing the Lord’s work, and I know that I will know what I need to know when I need to know it, as long as I do my part.

Hopefully the pics will get uploaded this time, and I’ll talk to you all in a week!


Elder A. Spencer Leake

P.S. And, Portugues of the week!

Dá-me la, pa.
Local usage: Hey man, give me that please.
Literally means: Give me there, shovel.

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.