Week 2!

I can’t believe it’s been over a week since I reported! It’s kind of ridiculous how time goes here: I feel both that I’ve been here for months, and that I started yesterday…

I’m loving the MTC and all of the Elders in my district. The Brazilian government has been issuing visas out really slowly, so all of the missionaries who are supposed to report there are stuck here, meaning we have a HUGE influx of Português speakers right now. My branch (45 for anyone who cares) is brand new, with five districts, totaling about 60 members… It’s kind of weird, because most districts are about 6-10, and a branch has 7 or 8 districts. My district has 14 Elders, 7 going to Mozambique (including me!), 5 to Porto, Portugal, and two to Hartford Connecticut, (CT and Portugal both got temples… jealous). There are about 90 missionaries total in Mozambique, which has a total area that is equivalent to about half of the continental US! Crazy.

I’ve been sickish for the last week or so, but am finally getting better. My district and I just got back from the temple, and I can’t express how wonderful an experience it was to share in the gospel ordinances with these, my amazing compatriots in the Lord’s work. My companion, Elder Russon, has been having some difficulty with the separation from his family, and has been showing some symptoms that I recognize (Mia…). He’s doing tremendously better, and together we are demolishing the course load we are given. I’m so grateful for all that he has done for me, and for the opportunities I have been given to serve.

Going to the temple was a little hard though. Although I loved being with the strong members of my  district, I couldn’t help but be a little sad thinking about my wonderful family I have left behind. I felt blessed this last week to not be homesick, like many of my district members, but today was a little much. I know I am doing the right thing, and have no intention of returning, but I can’t help but think of my loving family 😛

Of course I have been learning a boat load of Português, but am frustrated to my current lack of knowledge. I understand enough that I want to be able to speak my mind but can’t! Oh, well. It will come with time. My first week of the TRC (Teaching Resource Center) was awesome. I was able to contact someone in Português and then share a message of the gospel with them for 30 minutes (in English :P). I was so grateful for the opportunity to actually teach what I am learning instead of just listening and practising.

My time is almost up (only have half an hour in the MTC)  so I have to go. But I wanted to thank you all, and give a few shoutouts.

  • Sean, thanks for thinking of me, I’m always thinking of you and I appreciate the support.
  • Justin, yes it’s Aaron, I think we’ve been over this twice before 😛
  • Cherish, I still haven’t gotten your letter! I can’t believe it. But thanks for writing me, and I sent one out to you that I hope you’ve read 😛
  • Conner, thanks  a bunch 😛 good luck with braces, I have NO IDEA what that’s like 😀
  • Christopher, you’re welcome for the phone, I hope it was in one piece :P. Thanks for thinking of me, I’m thinking of you.

And pics are going to be hard here at the MTC, I can’t upload any to send, so I’ll send my card back today, and you should get them soon.

Thanks again, and I’ll talk to you next week.
Elder Leake

P.S. Don’t forget to write. Handwritten is much appreciated, but email is great too 😛

About Spencer Leake

Serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Mozambique, Maputo Mission. Currently posted in Nampula.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.